Home: HLSP Health-Related Resources: COVID-19 Resources for Clinicians and Researchers

New resources will have a next to them

COVID-19 Literature Summaries/Digests

COVID-19 Curbside Consults
The Cleveland Clinic Journal of Medicine has been publishing what they call Covid-19 Curbside Consults which authors have written articles summarizing some of the topics on covid-19
COVID-19 Evidence Service
Rapid reviews of primary care questions relating to the coronavirus pandemic, updated regularly.
COVID-19 Literature Surveillance Team
Daily LST COVID-19 reports.
COVID-19 Primer
Quickly understand the scientific progress in the fight against COVID-19. Using the most advanced NLP algorithms, read summaries and discover trends in the latest research papers and the conversations around them. Every 24hrs.
COVID-19 Recent Literature
The American College of Emergency Physicians list of COVID-19 recent literature, organized by topic.
NEJM Journal Watch COVID-19
The New England Journal of Medicine's summary.
COVID-19 Resource Centre
"To assist health workers and researchers working under challenging conditions to bring this outbreak to a close, The Lancet has created a Coronavirus Resource Centre."
NCBI SARS-CoV-2 Resources
Resources for the virus that causes the COVID-19 disease.

Treatment Information

Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) Treatment Guidelines
Treatment Guidelines from the National Institute of Health
Clinical Trials List for COVID-19
US Government website for clinical trials, search for trials relating to COVID-19.
COVID-19 Evidence Summaries
Summaries for evidence based care for COVID-19.

Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Libary is the world’s leading resource for systematic reviews in health care, containing more than 10,600 Cochrane Systematic Reviews and protocols.

During the crisis, the library has been made temporarily unrestricted for free - including their COVID-19 resources.

COVID-19 Data (CORD-19)

CORD-19
A free resource of over 44,000 scholarly articles, including over 29,000 with full text, about COVID-19 and the coronavirus family of viruses for use by the global research community.
COVID-19 Curated Data, Modeling, and Policy Resources
Data sources, analytic tools, policy options, and other resources - this is a preliminary list organized by Mathematica from publicly available resources.
COVID-19 Data Hub
Coronavirus (COVID-19) global data from community experts.
COVID-19 Healthcare Coalition Resource Library
List of links for resources including data sets.
Global research on coronavirus disease (COVID-19)
The global literature cited in the WHO COVID-19 database is updated daily (Monday through Friday) from searches of bibliographic databases, hand searching, and the addition of other expert-referred scientific articles. This database represents a comprehensive multilingual source of current literature on the topic. While it may not be exhaustive, new research is added regularly.
LitCovid
LitCovid is a curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus.
Research model for spread of coronavirus through the air.
A joint project carried out by four Finnish research organisations has studied the transport and spread of coronavirus through the air.

Clinician Equipment

Supply Strategies

Compounding Alcohol-Based Hand Sanitizer During COVID-19 Pandemic
How to make hand sanitizer for clinicians during the shortage
3D Printing of Face Shields
3D Face Shield files.
Joint Commission statement on home made masks
Joint Commission Statement on Use of Face Masks Brought From Home
Research on Reuse of Masks
Findings from UMass Amherst scientist may ease critical equipment shortage.
Dutch Study on Reuse of Masks
The Dutch National Institute for Public Health and the Environment (RIVM National Institute for Public Health and the Environment ) has conducted a pilot study and found a reprocessing method that leads to an acceptable quality of reprocessed face masks.
Understanding The Difference - Mask Type Comparison on Flyer
From the Ohio State University School of Nursing. Compares N95 Respirators, Surgical Masks, Homemade Cloth Masks.

Hospital Surge Planning

11/21 - Declaring a Disaster Emergency in the State of New York
On 11/26/2021 Governor Kathy Hochul declared a state of emergency for New York State. This was in response to an increase in New York State's COVID-19 infections. and the threat posed by the new omicron variant.
Agency Surge Planning Guide
Greater New York Hospital Association Guide For Surge Planning
Disaster Lit
The National Library of Medicine (NLM) database of links to disaster medicine and public health documents.
Federal Healthcare Resilience Task Force Alternate Care Site (ACS) Toolkit
Older federal planning document for dealing with facilities shortages during emergencies.
Surge Capacity Reading
Hospital Surge Capacity Must Reads

PubMed

PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Below are links to the results of popular searches about COVID-19 in PubMed:

COVID 19

COVID 19 and treatment

COVID 19 and hospital management

Novel coronavirus and prevention

Novel coronavirus and transmission

The National Center for Biotechnology Information

The National Center for Biotechnology Information offers many resources including Entrez, a cross-disciplinary search page. Search results are organized by database.

Results for popular searches in Entrez are linked below:

COVID-19

2019-nCoV

Clarivate Analytics

Clarivate Analytics has made information on the coronavirus/COVID-19 freely available.

Clarivate Analytics is also offering free access to Cortellis Drug Discovery Intelligence in support of coronavirus/COVID-19 research. Cortellis provides information on drug pipelines, disease briefings, experimental pharmacology, pharmacokinetics, animal models, targets and more.

FigShare

A free cloud-based service for researchers to upload their data for discovery and access.

Below are links to search results for popular searches on this topic:

2019-nCoV

COVID-19

OpenScience Framework

OSF is a free, open platform to support your research and enable collaboration.

Below are links to search results for popular searches on this topic (results are prioritized by relevance unless the user chooses a different filter). From these results pages, searches may be filtered by file type:

COVID-19

2019-nCoV

OSFPreprints

A free, open repository where users can make all of their research outputs available in a citable, shareable, and concise manner.

Below are links to search results for popular searches on this topic (results were filtered by the "Medicine and Health Sciences" subject; results are prioritized by relevance unless the user chooses a different filter):

COVID-19

"Novel coronavirus"

Google Scholar

A search engine that provides a way to search broadly across disciplines and sources for scholarly information.

Below are popular searches; click to view the results (*note that these have been narrowed to return results from 2016 to the present):

"novel coronavirus" sars-cov and therapeutic options

covid-19 and transmission

COVID-19 and "clinical characteristics"

UW Medicine COVID-19 Resource Site

UW Medicine COVID-19 Public Site
Screening and Testing Algorithms, Policy Statements and more from the University of Washington Medical System.

Telemedicine

AMA quick guide to telemedicine in practice
American Medical Association has designed resources to support physicians and practices in expediting the implementation of telemedicine.
Ethical Practice in Telemedicine
AMA's Code of Medical Ethics Opinion 1.2.12
Telehealth Coding and Billing During COVID-19
American College of Physicians information on billing and coding for telemedicine.
AANP Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) Telehealth Updates
Telehealth updates for nursing.
Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) Telehealth Updates
The Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services information on telehealth.