Contact Us!
800 Troy Schenectady Rd, Suite 204
Latham, New York 12110
518-438-2500
cdlc@cdlc.org
Most sessions are 45 minutes, followed by a short break.
8:15 - 9:00 am - Registration
9:00 am - Opening Remarks
Lunch 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm
3:30 pm - Closing Remarks
In this presentation, attendees will actively explore the transformative potential of Artificial Intelligence (AI) in libraries. Tailored specifically for library professionals, this session delves into crucial topics to enhance their understanding, implementation, and evaluation of AI initiatives. The session kicks off by establishing AI literacy and applications of AI, and exploring how it can revolutionize library services and operations. Next, attendees will learn strategies for identifying and mitigating potential risks associated with AI, including ethical considerations, data privacy, and bias. Real-world examples of successful AI implementations in libraries will be showcased, illustrating tangible improvements in cataloging, user services, and resource management. These success stories offer valuable insights for libraries looking to integrate AI. The presentation will then guide attendees through the practical steps of initiating AI projects in their libraries, from identifying needs and selecting suitable AI tools to securing stakeholder support. Finally, methods for measuring the impact and success of AI initiatives will be discussed, emphasizing performance indicators, user feedback mechanisms, and continuous improvement practices. By the end of this session, attendees will have gained a comprehensive understanding of AI and its applications in libraries, practical strategies for mitigating AI risks, actionable steps for starting and managing AI projects, and techniques to assess and ensure the ongoing success of AI initiatives. Unleash the potential of AI in your library and drive innovation within your community!
Melissa Del Castillo (she/her) is the Virtual Learning & Outreach Librarian at Florida International University, the largest minority-serving institution in the State of Florida, and the largest Hispanic Serving Institution in the United States. She is a dedicated academic reference librarian, passionate about public service, and information literacy. She also coordinates virtual chat reference services, assesses service offerings, creates learning objects, and provides library instruction. Melissa is committed to lifelong learning, collaboration, and mentoring. Her research interests include visual literacy, threshold concepts, instruction, active learning pedagogy, embedded librarianship, diversity, accessibility, and the value of reference. With a focus on artificial intelligence (AI), Melissa actively participates in discussions, webinars, and scholarship on AI tools in libraries. She has developed an AI Literacy LibGuide, led discussions at national library conferences, and been interviewed by industry publications. Collaborating on AI-related projects, she demonstrates her dedication to fostering collegiality, spreading awareness, and advocating for library users' needs.
Unlocking the Potential of AI with Students will wrestle with developing best practices for incorporating AI in the library and classroom. We will share our initial experiences as we've wrestled with how to use AI ethically to maximize student learning and critical thinking. This will be a practical look at AI in a learning environment. The presentation will reflect the real challenges and opportunities that AI has presented in our library programs.
Sarah Olson is the teacher librarian at Lake George Junior/ Senior High School, where she is passionate about empowering learners. She has presented at multiple conferences on media literacy, inquiry instruction and other library leadership topics. She has also co-authored articles, published in School Library Connection.
Sarah Gunner Moorfoot is the high school librarian at the Ballston Spa High School in Ballston Spa, New York. Prior to school librarianship, Sarah was an elementary special education teacher for 14 years. Sarah lives with her wonderful husband and her two young sons. In her spare time she loves to read, knit, run, exercise, and spend time with her family and friends.
In 2023, miSci partnered with Nowigence Inc. to bring an AI co-pilot to the Ground to Gourmet exhibition that allowed visitors to ask questions and receive answers based on the museum's exhibit research. Learn about how the museum’s research was integrated into the AI system and the outcomes of this collaboration. Discover how advanced extractive AI technology, like Nowigence’s developing platform researchwork.ai, can provide new opportunities for museum archives. This AI engine automates the process of linking and analyzing information, enabling natural language searches across individual documents or entire archives, thereby enhancing research and accessibility.
Anoop Bhatia, CEO, Nowigence Inc.
Anoop has worked for over two decades in various GE companies across different countries – from the United States to India, The Netherlands, Germany. In 1996, he played a key role in establishing GE Silicones Private Limited as the first-ever wholly-owned foreign subsidiary for any conglomerate in India. He received his Bachelor of Engineering in Chemical Engineering from BITS at Pilani in India and his post-graduate studies in management from Heriot-Watt at Edinburgh in Scotland.
Chris Hunter, Vice President of Collections & Exhibitions, miSci
Chris Hunter is the Vice-president of Collections & Exhibitions at miSci. He oversees miSci's archive of materials relating to innovation and GE, including 2 million photographs, hundreds of collections of local executives, engineers, and research scientists' papers, and 15,000 technology artifacts. He is a graduate of the University at Albany with an MA in History.
Conducting research, whether as a novice or an expert, can be labor-intensive and feel like climbing a steep mountain. Since the advent of artificial intelligence (AI) in the 1950s, various AI tools have emerged to assist students, faculty, researchers, and librarians in the research process. In this work, we'll explore the different ways AI tools can enhance your research efforts. Whether you're identifying gaps in a field, developing a research question, searching for relevant resources, struggling to outline your paper, analyzing data, or checking your bibliography for retracted sources, there are AI tools available to support each of these use cases.
Denice Lewis is the Research and Instruction Librarian for Engineering and Science at the Z. Smith Reynolds Library, Wake Forest University. She started at the Library in March 2019. She received her BS and MS in Electrical Engineering from Georgia Institute of Technology (Georgia Tech) and graduated with her MLIS from Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI) in 2019. In between Electrical Engineering and Library Science, Denice picked up an Associates in Culinary Arts from Le Cordon Bleu Scottsdale. She is a member of the American Library Association (ALA), the Association of College & Research Libraries (ARCL), the North Carolina Library Association (NCLA), and the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE).Denice’s research interests are the digital information literacy skills of incoming freshmen, mentoring for BIPOC early career librarians, as well as the intersection of artificial intelligence (AI), data science, and information literacy.
Unlocking the Power of AI in the School Library will explore the role of Artificial Intelligence (AI), specifically generative AI, in the school library. The presentation will delve into the ethical implications of AI use, discussing relevant curricular standards and the role of school librarians in fostering ethical information practices. It will explore how media literacy skills can empower students to critically evaluate AI-generated content and become discerning consumers of information. Additionally, the presentation will address potential pitfalls of over-reliance on AI and offer strategies for educators to harness its power while maintaining the human touch in the learning process.
Kerrie Burch is the School Library System Director at WSWHE BOCES. Before taking the position at WSWHE BOCES, she was the Director of the School Library System, Model Schools, and Arts at Questar III BOCES. She is an At-Large Member of NYLA Council and is a School Library Systems Association Past President, serving as President in 2020-2021. In 2024, she was awarded the School Library Systems Association Distinguished Service Award. Before becoming a School Library System Director, she served as a School Librarian at two rural schools, covering grades K-12, for ten years. She earned her Certificates of Advanced Study in School Building Leader and School District Leader from SUNY Plattsburgh, her Masters of Science in Information Science from the University at Albany, and her Bachelor of Arts in English and Secondary Education from SUNY Potsdam. She has presented at the local, regional, state, and national level on various school library related topics. She is an adjunct professor in the School Library Media program at St. John Fisher University and formerly at the University at Albany. Her areas of professional interest include curriculum, assessment, and technology instruction in the library. She enjoys traveling, reading, and spending time with her family.
The technologies behind Artificial Intelligence continue to advance and permeate large sectors of the software industry, global economy, and the information science sectors, including archives. Amidst the recent media attention and predictions of AI’s influence and impact on the future, the accuracy of AI is still dependent upon human intervention and critical analysis. An example of the current need for responsible human intervention, verification and training of generative pre-trained transformers (GPT) was recently on display at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute’s graduation activities. RPI conferred a posthumous honorary degree to Emily Warren Roebling and leveraged a combination of AI machine learning and human intelligence to generate various text in the writing style and voice of Emily. This presentation by Institute Archivist, Jenifer Monger, will detail her steps and the process in collaborating with and Computer Science scholar, Sola Shira ‘24 PhD, and AI researcher and director of RPI’s Future of Computing Institute, Dr. James Hendler. Jenifer will share their work behind the evolution of Emily Warren Roebling’s scripted text for RPI’s Colloquy and her commencement speech as members of the President’s Project Bridge Generative AI Team. Together, they collaborated to provide the compelling text which gave voice to Emily Warren Roebling, in the 21st century.